Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois ( 1847-1849 and President of the United States ( 1861-1865 ).


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mitchell County

E – Ottawa County and Saline County

S – Ellsworth County

W – Russell County and Osborne County


Created:  February 26, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat:

Lincoln  1867 – present


County Courthouse – Lincoln  


Location:  216 East Lincoln Avenue / North 2nd Street

Built:  1899 – 1901

Style:  Second Empire and Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  Charles W Squires

Contractor:  W P Baker of Lincoln


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored post rock and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lincoln. The building has a raised basement. The south front has a central entrance with arched stone doorway on the first story and large arched window on the second story. Above is a three windows dormer rising to a peaked roof. The east and west corners project from the main building and have large arched windows on the second story and a pediment at the roof line. Along the east and west sided are double rounded towers with conical roofs.  In the center of the roof is a square cupola white colored with clock and steep roof. In the interior is woodwork throughout and the staircase has wood posts. The courtroom is located in the northwest corner of the second story. The judge’s bench has dentils identical to the transoms and doorframes. The building houses the County District Court of the 12th Judicial District. The building was restored in 1993. To the norteast is the old red colored brick Sheriff’s Residence.


Note:  The original blueprints for the courthouse contain no measurements.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lincoln County Courthouse


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Cloud CountyJewell County, Mitchell CountyRepublic County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1867 and Lincoln was selected as the county seat in 1870 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was constructed by Myron D Green in 1873. The building was completely destroyed by fire on the night of December 7, 1898. Stone for the second and present courthouse was excavation under the direction of B P Wicker. A E McMichael was the stonemason. The interior finish materials-door and window frames, stairs for the courthouse was completed by O W Urich, of Atchison, Kansas and the ironwork was done William Bergh of Newton. The total cost of construction was less than $20,000. The cost of the 1993 restoration was $64,000.



County Courthouse – Lincoln



























County Sheriff’s Residence – Lincoln





Lincoln County Museum – Lincoln



Photos taken 2010