Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Michigan » Crawford County

Crawford County

Crawford County is named for William H Crawford, who was a politician and Fort Crawford in Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin was named for him.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Otsego County

E – Oscoda County

S – Roscommon County

W – Kalkaska County


Created:  April 1, 1840                            Map of Michigan highlighting Crawford County

County Seat:

Pere Cheney  1879

Grayling          1879 – present


County Courthouse – Grayling


Location:  200 Michigan Avenue / Norway Street

Built:  1968 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Harley–Ellington–Cowin–Stirton Inc.

Contractor:  Elzinga and Volkers Inc.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a one story light brown colored stucco and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Grayling on a bend of the Au Sable River. The building has a one story overhang on the northeast at the entrance. The building has light brown colored concrete on the center of the exterior walls and concrete on the upper and lower portions. Behind the entrance is a rectangular section rising two stories. The red colored roof line is flat. In the interior, the courtroom has orange colored chairs and a modest judge’s bench. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 46th Judicial District, County District Court and County Probate Court. 


See:  The 46th Judicial District includes Kalkaska County and Otsego County.


History:  The county was created in 1840 as Brown County and then as Shawono County. The county was renamed in 1843 as Crawford County and Pere Cheney was selected as the county seat when the county was organized in 1879. The county seat was moved to Grayling in 1879. The first courthouse was a three story structure built in 1879 and burned in 1902. The second courthouse was a two story red colored brick structure designed by Haug & Scheurman and constructed in 1904. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 to 1969.


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky



County Courthouse – Grayling











Photos taken 2008