Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Smith County

Smith County

Smith County is named for David Smith, who was a major and who came from Hinds County.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Scott County

E – Jasper County

S – Jones County and Covington County

W – Simpson County and Rankin County


Created:  December 23, 1833                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Smith County

County Seat: 

Fairfield  1833 – 1834

Raleigh   1834 – present


County Courthouse – Raleigh 


Location:  123 Main Street / Magnolia Drive

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Weathers-Foley Company of Memphis, Tennessee

Contractor:  Robert Clecker of Anniston, Alabama.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick. stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Raleigh. The east front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment art the roof line. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. On the center of the roof is an octagonal white colored cupola with black colored dome. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 13th Judicial District and County Justice Court. The building was renovated in 1974. The architect was Clemmer & Clark and the contractor was Mid-State Construction Company. A leak in the roof of the courthouse caused the loss of its signature dome. In 2005, a dedication service was held in honor of the new dome that had been built to replace the original dome. The architect was James Watts Clark.


County Chancery Court Building – Raleigh



Location:  201 Courthouse Square / Magnolia Drive

Built:  2007 – 2009

Style:  Modern Greek Revival

Architect:  Watts Clark of Clemmer and Clark Architects

Contractor:  Thrash Commercial Contractors.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Raleigh on the south side of the courthouse. The north front has a large portico with four white colored columns rising to a header at the roof line. The roof is hipped. In the interior, there are two County Chancery Court courtrooms on the first story. The building houses the County Chancery Court and Youth Court.


See:  The 13th Judicial District includes Covington CountyJasper County and Simpson County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Fairfield was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Raleigh after the county seat was moved in 1834. The courthouse burned and the Floyd Hotel became the second courthouse until it burned in 1892. The third courthouse was erected and later it burned in 1912. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913 at a cost of $50,000. The Chancery Court Building was constructed in 2007 to 2009.



County Courthouse – Raleigh













County Circuit Court courtroom







County Chancery Court Building – Raleigh











County Chancery Court courtroom







Photos taken 2012 and 2019