Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Missouri » Atchison County

Atchison County

Atchison County is named for David Rice Atchison, who was a United States Senator from Missouri.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fremont County, Iowa and Page County, Iowa

E – Nodaway County

S – Holt County and Richardson County, Nerbraska

W – Nemaha CountyNebraska and Otoe County, Nebraska


Created:  February 14, 1845                  Map of Missouri highlighting Atchison County

County Seat:

Linden       1846 – 1855

Rock Port  1855 – present


County Courthouse –  Rock Port


Location:  400 South Washington Street / West Cass  Street

Built:  1882 – 1883

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Edmund J Eckel and George R Mann of St. Joseph

Contractor:  R K Allen


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building sits on the side of a hill on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Rock Port. The east front has a high square brick clock tower. The steeply sloped mansard roofs and projecting dormer windows are covered with slate and metal roofing. Decorative brick corbeling below the eaves provides a transition from wall to roof. The roof is hipped. In the interior a main hallway runs east-west with wood stairs ascending to the County Circuit Court courtroom located in the center of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit.  The County Commissioners Meeting Room is located on the first story. To the southwest is the old County Jail which houses the Sheriff’s office.


Note: In the jury box are rocking chairs. Also see Nodaway County


See:  The architect, Edmund J Eckel and George R Mann of St. Joseph and the contractor,  R K Allen, also designed and constructed the courthouse in Nodaway County.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit incudes Atchinson County, Gentry County, Holt CountyNodaway County and Worth County.


History:  The county was created in 1845 and Linden was selected as the county seat in 1846. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built by Isaac F Wallis in 1847 to 1848 at a cost of $475. The county seat was moved to Rock Port in 1855. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by W H Dunbar and built in 1856 to 1858 at a cost of $12,000 to $15,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1882 to 1883 at a cost of $25,000.



County Courthouse – Rock Port























County Circuit Court courtroom











Rocking Chairs in Jury Box



Old ballot box



Old gas light fixture



County Commissioners Meeting Room





Old County Jail ( Sheriff’s Office ) – Rock Port







Photos taken 2008 and 2022