Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Dakota County

Dakota County


Dakota County is named for the Dakota Native American tribe and the word means “allies” or “brother”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dixon County and Union County, South Dakota

E – Woodbury County, Iowa

S – Thurston County

W – Dixon County


Created:  March  7, 1855                        Map of Nebraska highlighting Dakota County

County Seat:

Dakota City  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Dakota City 


Location:  1601 Broadway Street / North 16th Street

Built:  1940 – 1941

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  R F Reynolds of Sioux City, Iowa

Contractor:  Work Projects Administration using local trades


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story cream colored stucco and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Dakota City. The building is “L” shaped with an east wing extending south. The central entrance at the north wing has a vertical square pillar on each side with a header. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Court courtroom is located on the second story on the west side of the center section. The County District Court courtroom is located on the second story on the east side. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 6th Judicial District. The building was constructed under the Work Projects Administration Program. An addition was built on the east side in 1975. The contractor was Paul Bielenberg and the engineer was Eldon Schroder.


Note:  Under the Work Projects Administration the contractor was numerous trades including C W Sutter & Son (plumbing), C E Millis (electrical), Lyman-Rickey Sand and Gravel (gravel), Otto F Bridge (windows).


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Burt CountyCedar CountyDixon County, Dodge County, Thurston County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Dakota City was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in 1855. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Augustus Haase and built by A H Baker in 1871 at a cost of $15,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1940 to 1941 at a cost of $66,000.



County Courthouse – Dakota City 













County Court courtroom

















County District Court courtroom

















Commissioner Minutes 1939 and 1940





Photos taken 2008, 2012 and 2023