Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Fillmore County

Fillmore County

Fillmore County is named for Millard Fillmore, who was a President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – York County

E – Saline County

S – Thayer County

W – Clay County

Created:  January 26, 1856                                Location within the U.S. state of Nebraska

County Seat:  

Geneva   1856 – present


County Courthouse – Geneva   


Location:  900 G Street / South 9th Street

Built:  1893 – 1894

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  George E McDonald of Omaha

Contractor:  L F Pardue of Geneva


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and limestone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Geneva. The north front has a high square brick clock tower rising above the arched stone entrance on the first story. The clock tower rises 125 feet and has its original slate roofing, which is a flat-topped octagonal pyramid surrounded by a simple balustrade. The east and west sections project from the main building and have stone trimmed arched windows on the second story. The foundation is rustricated limestone in a slightly battered wall, while the roof is an asphalt shingled hipped roof. In the interior, a large hallway runs through the center of the building in an east-west direction and widens at the main entrance vestibule in the center. Large stair-halls on both the first and second stories are at either end, opening to the south of the main hallway. Offices open off the hallway north and south on both levels except on the second story where the large district courtroom occupies the central section of the building south of the hallway. Notable interior features include the borrow lights between the court offices and the second floor stair hall, large frame Romanesque arches in the main floor hallway and a profusion of pressed metal wall and ceiling coverings (added in 1916). The pressed metal work is nowhere more evident than in the district courtroom where three different designs are used for the ceiling, walls and wainscot. The building houses the District Court of the 1st Judicial District and County Court of the 10th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, George E McDonald of Omaha, Nebraska designed courthouses in Kansas in Elk Countyin Missouri in Andrew CountyBates County, Johnson County and Lawrence County; in Nebraska in Nuckolls County and in Wyoming in  Niobrara County.


Note:  The courthouse was modeled after the courthouse in Gage County. The clock in the tower was installed by W P McCall, a Geneva jeweler, in 1909.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Fillmore County Courthouse


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Gage County, Jefferson County, Johnson CountyNehama CountyOtoe CountyPawnee CountyRichardson CountySaline County and Thayer County.


History:  The county was created in 1856 and Geneva was selected as the county seat in 1871 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in 1873. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1893 to 1894 at a  cost of  $46,176.55. 



County Courthouse – Geneva




























County District Court and County Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2009 and 2023