Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Madison County

Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pierce County 

E – Stanton County

S – Platte County

W – Boone County and Antelope County


Created:  January 26, 1856                    Map of Nebraska highlighting Madison County

County Seat:

Madison   1875 – present


County Courthouse – Madison   


Location:  1313 North Main Street / North 6th Street

Built:  1976 – 1977

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Everett J Simpson of Architects Inc.

Contractor:  Fauss Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story brown colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the north side of the center of Madison. A wide white colored band runs below the flat roof line. On the south side, there is a circular projection from the main building with the entrance on the west side of the projection. In the interior, the hallway runs north-south with a small atrium toward the south end. There are four courtrooms. The County District Court large courtroom is along the east side towards the north and the small courtroom is also along the east side. The County Court large courtroom is along the east side towards the south with the small courtroom on the west side. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 7th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, Everett J Simpson of Architects Inc., designed courthouses in Pierce County and Stanton County.


See:  The contractor, Fauss Construction Inc., constructed the courthouse in Stanton County.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Antelope County, Cuming County, Knox County, Pierce CountyStanton County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Madison was selected as the county seat in 1875 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was designed by C F Kaul and constructed in 1887. The building was remodeled in 1936, sold in 1978 to the Madison Public Schools and demolished. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1976 to 1977.



County Courthouse – Madison











County District Court courtroom











County District Court small courtroom









County Court courtroom









County Court small courtroom







Photos taken 2009 and 2023