Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Avery County

Avery County

Avery County is named for Waightstill Avery, who was a soldier in the American Revolutionary War and an Attorney General of North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carter County, Tennessee and  Watauga County 

E – Watauga County and Caldwell County

S – Burke CountyMcDowell County and Mitchell County

W – Mitchell County and Carter County, Tennessee


Created:  February 23, 1911                   Map of North Carolina highlighting Avery County

County Seat: 

Newland  1911 – present


County Courthouse – Newland  


Location:  200 Montezuma Street / Park Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Beaux Arts and Classical Revival

Architect:  Wheeler and Runge of Charlotte

Contractor:  R C Campbell


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story white colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Newland. The north front has a portico with four columns rising to a pediment. The third story is recessed with a section above having three round windows and a curved roof. The roof is hipped. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 24th Judicial District. An addition was added on the east side. 


See:  The courthouse is very similar in appearance to the old courthouses in Ashe County, Randolph CountyStokes County and Wilkes County.


See:  The architect,  Wheeler & Runge of Charlotte, designed courthouses in Ashe CountyCaldwell CountyRandolph County, Stokes County and Wilkes County.


See:  The 24th Judicial District includes Madison County, Mitchell CountyWatauga County and Yancey County. 


History:  The county was created in 1911 and Newland was designated as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913.



County Courthouse – Newland











Photos taken 2012