Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Beaufort County

Beaufort County

Beaufort County is named for Henry Somerset, Duke of Beaufort, who was one of the Lords Proprietor in 1709.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Martin County and Washington County

E – Hyde County

S – Pamlico County and Craven County

W – Pitt County


Created:  December 3, 1705                  Map of North Carolina highlighting Beaufort County

County Seat: 

Bath             1705 – 1785

Washington  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Washington


Location:  112 West 2nd Street / Union Drive

Built:  1968 – 1971

Style:  Modern

Architect:  J Guy Wilson Jr. and Associates

Contractor:  J Leo Hawkins


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Washington. The south front has a large central portico with two high columns on either side of a recessed entrance with circular section at the top. Dual steps ascend to the first story entrance. The east and west ends of the building have recessed sections. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 2nrd Judicial District.


Old County Courthouse – Washington



Location:  158 North Market Street / West 2nd Street

Built:  1786 – 1787

Style:  Federal

Architect:  County Commissioners

Contractor:  Local trades and labor


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located in the center of Washington to the south of the courthouse. The east front has a recessed central entrance. Below the hipped roof is a large fan light. On the center of the roof is a high square white colored wood cupola with clock at the top. In the interior, the old courtroom is located on the second story. The building now houses the Beaufort-Hyde-Martin Regional Library.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Beaufort County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Hyde CountyMartin CountyTyrrell County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1705 and Bath was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in Bath in 1706. The second courthouse was erected in 1756. The county seat was moved to Washington in 1785 and the third courthouse was built in 1786 to 1788 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 to 1971.



County Courthouse – Washington











Old County Courthouse – Washington







Photos taken 2012