Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Nelson County

Nelson County

Nelson County is named after Nelson E Nelson , who was a member of the Dakota Territorial Council from 1881 to 1882, delegate to the  Republican National Convention from the Dakota Territory in 1884.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ramsey County and Walsh County

E – Grand Forks County

S – Steele County and Griggs County

W – Eddy CountyBenson County and Ramsey County


Created:  March 2, 1883                         Map of North Dakota highlighting Nelson County

County Seat: 

Petersburg  1883 – 1885

Lakota         1883 – present


County Courthouse – Lakota


Location:  210 B Avenue West / 2nd Street West

Built: 1951 – 1952

Style:  Modern

Architect:   George A Blewett

Contractor:  Johnson-Gillanfers Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lakota. The building has a raised basement and a projecting center section on the south side with glass entrance and large glass window above. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the Northeast Central Judicial District. On the north side of the first story basement is the large Assembly Room. The building is called the “Nelson County Memorial Court House”. 


See:  The contractor, Johnson-Gillanfers Company, also constructed the courthouse in Walsh County.


See:  The Norrheast Central Judicial District includes Grand Forks County.


 History:  The county was created in 1883 and Petersburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure. The county seat was moved to Lakota in 1885 and the second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1885. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 to 1952.



County Courthouse – Lakota

















County District Court courtroom





















Photos taken 2006, 2009 and 2022