Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Bradley County

Bradley County

Bradley County is named for Edward Bradley, who was a Tennessee state legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Meigs County and McMinn County

E – Polk County

S – Murray County, Georgia and Whitfield County, Georgia

W – Hamilton County


Created:  February 10, 1836                  Map of Tennessee highlighting Bradley County

County Seat: 

Cleveland  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Cleveland  


Location:  155 North Ocoee Street / 1st Street NE

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Selmon T Franklin & Associates

Contractor:  Whaley Construction Inc. of Kodak


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cleveland. The east front has a large over hanging roof supported by eight pillars. There is a ramp winding up to the second story. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the large Commissioner’s Room is located on the north side of the first story. The courtrooms are located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 10th Judicial District. Renovations were completed after fire damage in September 2018.


Note:  The construction of the courthouse was supervised by a Courthouse Construction Committee comprised of John Tyler, Homer Green and John Clayton including the architect Selmon T Franklin & Associates, and the contractor is presumed to have been Whaley Construction Inc. of Kodak.


County Courthouse Annex – Cleveland  



Location:  155 North Broad Street / 1st Street NE

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Second Renaissance Revival and Georgian Revival

Architect:  James K Taylor

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff grey colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Cleveland on the west side of the courthouse. The east front has a central entrance on the first story. A cornice runs below the hipped roof. In the interior are marble, terrazzo, wood floors and plaster walls. The stairs have iron balustrades and the lobby has wainscoting. The building was constructed as the Main Post Office. The building was renovated in 1933, The contractor was D T Underwood and L Reed. A new basement was added in 1961. . The architect was Harrison, Gill and Associates and the contractor was Monefeldt and Hine of Chattanooga. The building was renovated in 2000.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Main Post Office


County Justice Complex – Cleveland  


Location:  2290 Blythe Avenue SE / Foster Lane

Built:  2002 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  J Mark Rodgers

Contractor:  Tri-Con Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the south of the center of Cleveland. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Criminal Court of the 10th Judicial District. 


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes McMinn County, Monroe County and Polk County


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Cleveland was selected as the county sear. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1836 in Cleveland. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1839. The third courthouse was designed by R H Hunt and Lamm and constructed in 1892. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to1964. The County Justice Complex was constructed in 2002 to 2004.



County Courthouse – Cleveland























Commissioner’s Room









Commissioner Minutes – Architect





County Courthouse Annex – Cleveland











Photos taken 2012, 2014 and 2018