Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Humphreys County

Humphreys County

Humphreys County is named for Parry Wayne Humphreys, who was a United States Representative.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Houston County

E – Dickson County 

S – Hickman County and Perry County

W – Benton County


Created:  October 19, 1809                    Map of Tennessee highlighting Humphreys County

County Seat: 

Reynoldsburg   1811 – 1837

Waverly            1837 – present


County Courthouse – Waverly  


Location:  100 North Court Square / South Church Street

Built:  1951 – 1952

Style:  Modern Art Deco

Architect:  Steinbaugh & Wheeler

Contractor:  Boone Contracting Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center  of Waverly. The north front has a projecting center section with wide recessed entrance and horizontal windows above on the second story. The east and west wings are lower and have horizontal winters. The roof line is flat.In the interior, the courtroom is located on the north side of the second story over the entrance. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court and County General Sessions Court of the 23rd Judicial District.  On the south side is the Rawlings Building which house the Probate Court and Juvenile Court.


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Cheatham CountyDickson County,   Houston County and Stewart County.


History:  The county was created in 1809 and Reynoldsburg was selected as the county seat in 1811. The court first met at the home of Samuel Parke on Trace Creek. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1812. In 1837, the county seat was moved to Waverly. The second courthouse was built in 1837 at a cost of $6,000. The building burned in 1876 and the third courthouse was built. The building burned in 1889 and the fourth courthouse, a two story brick structure was constructed. The building was demolished when the fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 to 1952.



County Courthouse – Waverly  























County Courthouse Bell



Photos taken 2014