Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Marion County

Marion County

Marion County is named for Francis Marion, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1732 to 1795.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grundy County

E – Sequatchie County and Hamilton County

S – Dade County, Georgia and Jackson County, Alabama

W – Franklin County


Created:  November 20, 1817                Map of Tennessee highlighting Marion County

County Seat: 

Whitwell   1817 – 1823

Jasper      1823 – present


County Courthouse – Jasper  


Location:  24 Courthouse Square / 1st Street East

Built:  1923 – 1925

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  James G Gaunt of Chattanooga

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Jasper. The building features multiple arched windows and an arched main entrance pavilion. Also incorporated into the design are two story Doric pilasters and full entablature at the roof. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the Juvenile Court of the 12th Judicial District. Remodeled in 1986 after fire damage in 1984. The architect was Volkhart Architects of Chattanooga and the contractor was Warren Construction. On the north side is the one story County Courthouse Annex.


Note:  The contractor was probably Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky which constructed many courthouses around 1923 to 1924.


County Justice Center – Jasper  



Location:  5 Oak Avenue / 1st Street West

Built:  1999 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Conquest Architectural

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of the city to the west of the courthouse. The east front has a projecting center section with red colored brick and recessed entrance on the first story. Four white colored pillars rise to a pediment from the second story to the roof line with large four group of windows. The upper part of the building is yellowed colored concrete. The lower part of the building is red colored brick. The roof is hipped. In the interior are the County Circuit Court courtrooms located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 12th Judicial District and the jail.


Note:  During construction the general contractor went bankrupt.


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Bledsoe County, Franklin CountyGrundy CountyRhea County and Sequatchie County.


History:  The county was created in 1817 and Whitwell was selected as the county seat. The first court met in the Creek House at Whitwell. In 1823 the county seat was moved to Jasper. The first courthouse was built by John Mathas in Jasper in 1824. The second courthouse was built by John Jones in Jasper in 1880. The courthouse burned down in 1922 and the present third courthouse was completed in 1925. The county minutes are missing and presumed destroyed in the fire. The builder in 1925 was probably W R Harper who was contractor for a number of Tennessee courthouses.



County Courthouse – Jasper

















County Juvenile Court courtroom







County Justice Center – Jasper









County Circuit Court courtroom















County Circuit Court courtroom





County Courthouse Annex – Jasper

Photos taken 2012, 2014 and 2018