Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Bee County

Bee County

Bee County is named for Barnard E Bee, who was a secretary of state of the Republic of Texas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Live Oak County, Karnes County and Goliad County

E – Refugio County

S – San Patrico County

W – Live Oak County

Created:  December 8, 1857                  Map of Texas highlighting Bee County

County Seat:   

Beeville  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Beeville 

Location:  105 West Corpus Christie Street / St. Mary Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Beaux Arts and Classical Revival

Architect:  William Charles Stephenson Jr. of Chicago, Illinois and Fritz Heldenfels

Contractor:  W C Whitney Construction Company

Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square  in the center of Beeville. The north front has a large portico supported by for large Corinthian columns rising to a large pediment at the roof line. A balustrade runs along the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large red “bee hive” dome with a clock and the Lady of Justice at the top. There are Chicago style windows of a glass pane flanked by two narrow panes. In the interior, the courtrooms are located on the east and west sides of the second story and extend into the third story with balconies. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and Justice Court. The building was renovated in 1949. The architect was Robert Beasly.


Note:  The Lady of Justice atop the bee hive dome is depicted as not being blind.


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Beeville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a box wood frame structure built in 1858. The second courthouse was a frame structure built in 1860. The third courthouse was a wood frame structure designed and built by Viggo Kohler in 1879 at a cost of $3,425. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on January 15, 1911 and the Grand Opera House houses the court until the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1912.



County Courthouse – Beeville



























Commissioner Room















Photos taken 2009 and 2019