Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Jim Wells County

Jim Wells County

Jim Wells County is named for James Babbage Wells Jr., who was a politician in southern Texas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Live Oak County and San Patrico County

E – San Patrico CountyNueces County and Kleberg County 

S – Brooks County 

W – Duval County 

Created:  March 11, 1911                       Map of Texas highlighting Jim Wells County

County Seat: 

Alice  1911 – present


County Courthouse – Alice  

Location:  200 North Almond Street / East 2nd Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Texas Renaissance

Architect:  Atlee B Ayres of San Antonio

Contractor:  The Bailey Mills Company

Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brownish colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Alice. The south side has a projecting central section with recessed porch with two columns on the first story and wide header above. Two brick pilasters rise to the roof line. A wide cornice runs above the second story windows. On the roof is a large octagonal cupola with dome. The roof is hipped. In the interior, there is a small courtroom on the first story. The large courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Justice Court. Additions on the east and west sides were built in 1948 and completed in 1949. The architect was Addis E Noonan.


See:  The architect, Atlee B Ayres of San Antonio, also designed courthouses in Cameron CountyKleberg County and  Refugio County.


History:  The county was created in 1911 and Alice was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913.



County Courthouse – Alice













































Photos taken 2014 and 2019