Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Kenedy County

Kenedy County

Kenedy County is named for Mifflin Kenedy, who was an early rancher in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kleberg County

E – Gulf of Mexico

S – Willacy County 

W – Hildalgo County and Brooks County 


Created:  April 2, 1921                            Map of Texas highlighting Kenedy County

County Seat: 

Sarita  1921 – present


County Courthouse – Sarita 


Location:  101 North Mallory Street / La Parra Street

Built:  1916 – 1917

Style:  Texas Renaissance

Architect:  Henry Truman Phelps of San Antonio

Contractor:  I A Walker


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Sarita. The east front has a center section with four large columns rising to a wide header at the flat roof line. The windows along the first story are narrow and vertical. In the interior there is a cross hallway on the first story. The large courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the State District Court and Constitutional County Court. The building was restored in 2010. The architect was Lord, Aeck & Sargent Architects and the contractor was JC Stoddard Construction and Mid-Continental Restoration Co., Inc. To the east of the building is the County Justice Court Building which has a small courtroom.


See:  The architect Henry Truman Phelps of San Antonio, Texas


History:  The courthouse was constructed at a cost of $19,000 for Willacy County. When Kenedy County was created in 1921, the county seat moved to Raymondville in Wallcy County and the courthouse became the courthouse for Kenedy County. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1916 to 1917 and was restored in 2010 at a cost of $4,000,000.



County Courthouse – Sarita





























Courthouse in 2006 before restoration



County Justice Court Building – Sarita















Photos taken 2006, 2014 and 2019