Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Matagorda County

Matagorda County

Matagorda County is named for the Spanish word “thick bush” as the canebrakers once lined the Gulf of Mexico coastline.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wharton County and Fort Bend County

E – Brazoria County and Gulf of Mexico

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Calhoun County, Jackson County and Wharton County

Created:  March 17, 1836                       Map of Texas highlighting Matagorda County

County Seat: 

Matagorda  1836 – 1894

Bay City      1894 – present


County Courthouse – Bay City

Location:  1700 7th Street / Avenue F

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Rusty, Martin & Vale

Contractor:  Cross Construction Company, Inc.

Description:  The building faces north and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square, in the center of the city and sits on a raised platform. The second story extends over the first story and is supported by square concrete pillars. The second story has many vertical concrete dividers with recessed windows. The center of the building is raised at the third story, and is faced with white colored stone. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The county is one of the original 23 counties created in 1836.


History:  The county was created in 1836 as one of the original 23 counties and Matagorda was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1849. The county seat was moved to Bay City in 189a. The second courthouse was designed by Eugene Heiner and constructed by Martin, Byrne, Johnston and Applegate in 1895. The building was enlarged in 1928. The architect was Addis Noonan of Norris and Noonan. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965.



County Courthouse – Bay City















Photos taken 2006 and 2014