Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Zapata County

Zapata County

Zapata County is named for Jose Antonio de Zapata, who was a rancher in the area and a rebel against Mexico.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Webb County

E – Jim Hogg County

S – Starr County 

W – Mexico


Created:  January 22, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Zapata County

County Seat: 

Carrizo   1858 – 1953

Zapata    1953 – present


County Courthouse – Zapata 


Location:  200 East 7th Street / Hidalgo Boulevard

Built:  2003 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Morgan Spear Associated, Inc.

Contractor:  Satterfield & Portikes Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff and red colored brick, stone, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The building has a larger first story with the second and third stories being recessed. The north front has an arched portico with brick pillars and recessed entrance. On the center of the roof is a round dome faced with red colored titles.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1874 and the second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1901 in Carrizo. The Falcon Reservoir flooded Carrizo and the third courthouse was a two story rectangular structure constructed by W Uhlhorn in 1953. The building was demolished in 2006 when the fourth and present courthouse was completed.



County Courthouse – Zapata

















Photos taken 2006 and 2014