Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Talbot County

Talbot County

Talbot County is named for Matthew Talbot, who was a Governor of Georgia.


Created:  December 14, 1827

County Seat: 

Talbotton  1827 – present


County Courthouse – Talbotton 


Location:  26 South Washington Avenue / Monroe Street

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Queen Anne

Architect:  Alexander C Bruce & Thomas H Morgan

Contractor:  Westbrook & Bennett ( W B Bennett ) of Barnesville


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The northeast corner has a high square red brick clock tower with steep roof. The southeast corner has a lower and wider tower. The windows of the building are arched and the roof is is hipped.