Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Montgomery County

Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a United States general killed in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Giles County and Craig County

E – Roanoke County

S – Floyd County

W – Pulaski County and Radford


Created:  October 7, 1776                      Map of Virginia highlighting Montgomery County

County Seat: 

Christiansburg  1777 – present


County Courthouse – Christiansburg 


Location:  55 East Main Street / Pepper Street SE

Built:  2009 – 2012

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Thompson & Litton of Radford

Contractor:  DeVere Construction of Alpena, Michigan


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a four story dark red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Christiansburg. The west front has a projecting center section with a recessed central entrance. There are four large pillars supporting a balcony on the second story. On the second story is a large glass section with a large arched glass section rising to a peaked roof. The main building has vertical windows with concrete panels between. A wide band runs below the hipped roof. There is stone trim at the cornersThe building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 27th Judicial Circuit.


Old County Courthouse – Christiansburg 



Location:  1 East Main Street / South Franklin Street

Built:  1974 – 1976

Style:  Modern / Brutalist

Architect:  Scherertz-Franklin

Contractor:  Graves Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Christiansburg. The south front has a large glass section at the central entrance. The upper stories have horizontal windows. The roof line is flat. The building is now an office building. On the grounds is the eagle from the 1909 County Courthouse.


See:  The 27th Judicial Circuit includes Bland CountyCarroll County, Floyd County, GalaxGiles CountyGrayson County, Pulaski CountyRadford and Wythe County.


HistoryThe county was created in 1776 and Christiansburg was selected as the county seat in 1777. The first courthouse was built by the Davis brothers in 1808 on the Courthouse Square. The second courthouse in 1815 was a rebuild of the previous courthouse. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure built by James Toncray in 1834 to 1836. The fourth courthouse was designed by Huggins & Bates and built by N B Moore in 1909 being a remodel of the previous courthouse with an Edwardian appearance. The courthouse was demolished. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1976 and is still standing. The sixth courthouse was constructed in 2009 to 2012.


Note:  The eagle from the 1909 courthouse cupola was saved and placed on the Courthouse Square. There is a similar eagle on the old Roanoke County Courthouse which was also designed by Huggins & Bates.


County Government Center – Christiansburg 



Location:  755 Roanoke Road / Chinquapin Trail

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Industrial

Architect:  Thompson & Litton of Radford

Contractor:  Swope Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, steel and concrete former industrial building. The building is located in the center of Christiansburg and was converted into office space. The interior has an open atrium rising two stories to roof skylights.



County Courthouse – Christiansburg









Old County Courthouse – Christiansburg



Eagle from 1909 County Courthouse









County Government Center – Christiansburg









Photos taken 2012