Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Roanoke


Roanoke County is named for the Roanoke River which is named for the Native American word meaning “shell money”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Roanoke County 

E – Roanoke County 

S – Roanoke County 

W – Roanoke County and Salem


Independent City                                   State map highlighting Roanoke

Created:  1884                                             


Courthouse – Roanoke


Location:  315 Church Avenue SW / 3rd Street SW

Built:  1980 – 1982

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hayes, Seay, Mattern & Mattern

Contractor:  R E Lee & Sons, Incorporated


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story concrete and glass style structure. The south front has a large recessed glass wall which runs along the east side. A horizontal concrete band runs between the first and second stories. A wide horizontal concrete sections runs below the flat roof line. The building houses the Circuit Court, General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 23rd Judicial Circuit. The building is named as the Oliver White Hill Courthouse.


City Hall / Old Courthouse – Roanoke



Location:  325 Church Avenue SW / 3rd Street SW

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Neo-Classical / International Modern

Architect:  Edward G Frye and Aubrey Chesterman

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story glass, stone, steel and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Roanoke. The building is a rectangular shape with a central portico on the north front with four columns and entrance on the second story. The fourth story is recessed. The building is named as the Noel C Taylor Municipal Building. The building houses the city court from 1915 to 1982. An addition was constructed in 1968 to 1970 on the south side and is connected to the original building on the north side. The architect was Hayes, Seay, Mattern & Mattern.


See:  The 23rd Judicial Circuit includes Roanoke County and Salem.


History:  The Independent City was created in 1884. The first courthouse was a three story brick structure built on South Jefferson Street in 1887. The building was torn down in 1914. The second courthouse was built in 1914 to 1915 as the City Hall. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1980 to 1982.



Courthouse – Roanoke















City Hall / Old Courthouse – Roanoke













City Hall Addition – Roanoke

Photos taken 2005 and 2013