Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Washington » Pierce County

Pierce County

Pierce County is named for Franklin Pierce, who was President of the United States from 1853 to 1857.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kitsap County and King County

E – Kittitas County and Yakima County

S – Lewis County and Thurston County 

W – Thurston County and Mason County


Created:  April 25, 1854                         Map of Washington highlighting Pierce County

County Seat: 

Strlacoom  1854 – 1880

Tacoma      1880 – present


County Courthouse – Tacoma 


Location:  930 Tacoma Avenue South / South 9th Street

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  A Gordon Lumm

Contractor:  Macdonald Building Company.


Description:  The building  faces east and consists of a ten story buff colored brick, concrete and glass tower structure on the north and a three story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure on the south. The north and south buildings are joined in the center by a low two story entrance structure.  The south building has a large glass section along the east side. The north building has windows facing north and south. The roof line is flat. The building is called the County City Building and houses the City of Tacoma offices.


History:  The county was created in 854 and Steilacoom was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse had been erected in 1853 and burned in 1858. The second courthouse was built in 1859 and was demolished in 1932. The county seat was moved to Tacoma in 1880. The third courthouse was designed by Proctor & Dennis and built by John T Long in 1893 at a cost of $270,000. The courthouse was demolished in 1959 and the fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1958 to 1959 at a cost of $6,000,000.


Note:  The highest point in Washington is Mount Rainier at 14,417 feet ( 4394 meters ) which is located in the county.



County Courthouse – Tacoma













Photos Taken 2009 and 2016