Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Alberta » Drayton Valley

Drayton Valley

Drayton Valley is named for Dora Drake and William Drake who ran the first post office and who changed the name from “Powerhouse”.


Location:  Drayton Valley is located in the south part of the Province to the southwest of Calgary.


Judicial District:  Edmonton Judicial District


Provincial Court Courthouse – Drayton Valley


Location:  5136 51 Avenue / 52 Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Thorkelsson Architects Ltd.

Contractor:  H D C Construction Company Ltd.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brown coloured stucco, wood and concrete structure. The recessed entrance is located at the southwest corner with a porch supported by pillars. The second story has an open area above the entrance patio. The roof line is flat. The Court is located in the Provincial Building.


 See:  Within the Edmonton Judicial District is the Court of Queens Bench at Edmonton and Provincial Courthouses located at  Athabasca   /   Barrhead   /   Boyle   /   Breton   /   Edson   /   Evansburg     /   Fort Saskatchewan   /   Grande Cache   /   Hinton   /   Jasper  /   Leduc   /  Mayerthorpe   /  Morinville   /  St. Albert   /  Sherwood Park  /  Stony Plain  /  Vegreville   /  Westlock   /   Whitecourt




Provincial Court Courthouse – Drayton Valley













Photos taken 2015