Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » New Brunswick » Westmorland County

Westmorland County

Westmorland County is named for Westmorland County in Great Britain.


County Created  :  1785 ( one of the 8 original counties )

County Seat:  

Dorchester  1785 – present



Courthouse – Moncton


Location:  145 Assumption Boulevard / Westmoreland Street

Built:  2008 – 2011

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Citigroup Properties


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a five story concrete and glass structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds in the centre of the city. The southeast front has a high open portico in front of the glass panel entrance. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Moncton Law Courts. 



Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $50,000,000.



N – Kent County and Northumberland Strait

E – Nova Scotia

S – Bay of Fundy and Albert County 

W – Albert CountyKings County and Queens County 













Photos taken 2018