Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Nova Scotia » Victoria County

Victoria County

Victoria County is named for Queen Victoria, who was queen of Great Britain.


County Created  :  April 17, 1879 ( 1851 )

County Seat:  

Baddeck  1879 – present


Old Courthouse – Baddeck  


Location:  495 Chebuto Street / Queen Street

Built:  1889 – 1890

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Phillip MacRae of Big Baddeck

Contractor:  Phillip MacRae of Big Baddeck


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story wood and stone structure. The building is located on sloped landscaped grounds in the city centre. The centre block is the original building. The building is built of granite and wooden clapboard with a granite base and first story. There are pilasters dividing the windows on the second story. The roof is hipped with flat sections on the east and west extensions. The former courtroom is located in the centre section on the second story. In 1967, an extension was constructed on the west side. In 1974, the building was renovated. In 1980, a further extension was constructed. The building serves as the City Hall.


Note:   The court offices have moved to Sydney in Cape Breton County.


Courthouse – Wagmatcook



Location:  10765  Highway 105 / Fishery Road

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story wood and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the centre of the town. The entrance on the west side is on the second story. The east side has a balcony on the second story supported by white coloured pillars. The roof is hipped The courtroom is located on the first story and has a round table and tribal artwoork. The building is named as the Wagmatcook Culture & Heritage Centre.



N – Atlantic Ocean

E – Cape Breton County

S – Inverness County

W – Inverness County




Old Courthouse



















Picture old Jail built 1865



Courthouse – Wagmatcook















Photos taken 2018