Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Ontario » Timiskaming District

Timiskaming District

Timiskaming District is named for Lake Timiskaming which is named for the Algonquin word “tim” meaning “deep” and “kami” meaning “open water”.


Surrounding Courthouses: 

N – Cochrane District

E – Quebec

S – Nipissing District and Sudbury District

W – Sudbury District


Created:  1912                     Location of Unorganized West Timiskaming District

District Seat: 

Haileybury   1912 – present


Courthouse – Haileybury


Location:  393 Main Street / Georgian Avenue

Built:  1922 – 1923

Style:  Georgian

Architect:  Francis Riley Heakes of Toronto

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red coloured brick and concrete structure. The building houses the Superior Court of Justice and the Ontario Court of Justice.


See:  The architect, Frank Riley Heakes of Toronto,  was chief architect for the Ontario Department of Public Works and he designed courthouses in Algoma District, Kenora District,  Muskoka District Municipality, Rainy River DistrictSudbury DistrictThunder Bay District and Timiskaming District.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1914 and burned in 1922.


Note:  The highest point in the Province of Ontario is the Ishpatina Ridge at 693 meters ( 2274 feet ) which is located in the the western part of the Lady Evelyn-Smoothwater Provincial Park on the west side of the Timiskaming District.


Other Branch Courthouses


Kirkland Lake

















Photos taken 2006 and 2016