Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Delaware County

Delaware County

Delaware County is named for John M. Clayton, who was a Delaware Senator, or for the State of Delaware or for Delaware County in New York State.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clayton County 

E – Dubuque County

S – Jones County and Linn County

W – Buchanan County


Created:  December 21, 1837                Map of Iowa highlighting Delaware County

County Seat:

Delhi             1837 – 1894

Manchester  1894 – present


County Courthouse – Manchester


Location:  301 East Main Street / South Tama Street

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Charles E Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Contractor:  Barnett & Record Company


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored pressed brick and Bedford limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Manchester. The building has a limestone arch at the first story entrance. A high square brick clock tower rises at the northwest corner. A small but wider tower rises on the northeast corner. The foundation is course stone. The roof is steep. In the interior, the decorative metal ceilings on the first story and the elaborate woodwork are original to the building. The County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 1A Judicial District.


See:  The architect Charles E Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Delaware County Courthouse


See:  The 1A Judicial District includes Allamakee County, Clayton CountyDubuque County and Winneshiek County.


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Delhi was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story log structure built in Delhi in 1843 t0 1844. The second courthouse was built in 1850 to 1853 by the citizens of the county. The county seat was moved to Manchester in 1880. The third courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1880. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895 at a cost of $38,000.



County Courthouse – Manchester











County District Court courtroom





Photos taken 2008