Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Grant County

Grant County

Grant County is named for a white Indian trader named Grant and the name was given to the area during the British control.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Crawford County and Richland County

E – Iowa County and Lafayette County

S – Jo Daviess County. Illinois

W – Dubuque County, Iowa and Clayton County, Iowa


Created:  December 8, 1836                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Grant County

County Seat: 

Lancaster  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Lancaster


Location:  130 West Maple Street / South Madison Street

Built:  1902 – 1905

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Armand D Koch

Contractor:  The Northern Building Company of Minneapolis , Minnesota and Robert Brooker of Lancaster.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story brownstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lancaster. The building is cross shaped. Three types of brick are found in the exterior walls: red colored clay bricks at the basement, glazed brown colored bricks at the first story, and light-brown colored bricks on the upper stories. The east front protrudes to create the main entrance, with the south wing and north wing behind. Inside are murals painted by Franz Edward Rohrbeck. On the center of the roof is an octagonal glass and copper dome topped by a small open cupola. Ornamental iron railings surround the well at the second and third floors, and an open stairway descends from the second floor to the first on center in the middle of the well. On the third floor, murals decorate the four spandrels under the dome. The County Circuit Court courtroom is at the south end of the second story and the County Circuit Court courtroom, is on the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 7th Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Grant County Courthouse


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Adams County, Buffalo County, Clark County, Crawford CountyIowa County, Jackson CountyJuneau CountyLa Crosse County, Monroe County, Pepin CountyPierce CountyRichland County, Trempealeau County and Vernon County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Lancaster was selected as the county seat in 1837. The first courthouse was erected by G M Price and Daniel Banfill in 1838. The second courthouse was built by Alcorn, Wood and Prentice in 1851 to 1852. Part of this building was incorporated in the present courthouse. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1905.


County Administration – Lancaster



Location:  111 South Jefferson Street / W Maple Street

Built:  1997 – 1998

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ayers Associated

Contractor:  Miron Construction


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on the west side of the courthouse in the center of Lancaster. The building is rectangular and has a flat roof line.



County Courthouse – Lancaster



















County Circuit Court courtroom











County Administration – Lancaster



Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2012