Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Juneau County

Juneau County

Juneau County is named for Solomon Juneau, who was the founder of Milwaukee and who lived from 1793 to 1856.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wood County

E – Adams County

S – Sauk County

W – Vernon CountyMonroe County and Jackson County


Created:  October 13, 1856                    Map of Wisconsin highlighting Juneau County

County Seat: 

New Lisbon  1856 – 1864

Mauston       1864 – present


County Courthouse – Mauston


Location:  220 East State Street / Oak Street

Built:  1938 – 1940

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Donn Hougen of Wisconsin Rapids

Contractor:  Leo Finger


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story buff colored flagstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mauston. The third story is recessed. Light polished stone trims the two entrances on the north side of the building, under the windows on the first and second stories and along the cornice at the top of the second story. Wide stone steps ascend to the two entrances. In the interior are marble floors and richly paneled rooms. The Board of Supervisors Meeting Room on the west side of the second story was the former courtroom. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 7th Judicial District. The Works Project Administration supervisors was Frank R Bell and Frank Novak.


County Justice Center – Mauston



Location:  200 Oak Street / La Crosse Street

Built:  2000 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ayers Associates

Contractor:  Kraemer Brothers


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, white colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the south side of the courthouse in the center of Mauston. On the north side is red colored brick facing with narrow vertical windows. On the west side is white stone facing at the entrance and across the top with red brick along the bottom two-thirds. The roof line is flat. In the interior there are three County Circuit Court courtrooms along the southeast side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 7th Judicial District 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Juneau County Courthouse


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Adams County, Buffalo County, Clark County, Crawford CountyGrant CountyIowa County, Jackson CountyLa Crosse County, Monroe County, Pepin CountyPierce CountyRichland County, Trempealeau County and Vernon County.


History:  The county was created in 1856 and New Lisbon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built in 1857. The county seat was moved to Mauston ( Maugh’s Town ) in 1864 and the courthouse was moved there. The second courthouse was built by Oscar F Temple in 1875. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1940. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2000 to 2001.



County Courthouse – Mauston













Board of Supervisors Meeting Room













County Justice Center – Mauston








County Circuit Court courtroom









Photos taken 2007, 2010 and 2022