Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Iowa County

Iowa County

Iowa County is named for the Iowa Native American people.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N –  Richland County and Sauk County

E – Dane County and Green County

S – Lafayette County

W – Grant County


Created:   October 9, 1829                     Map of Wisconsin highlighting Iowa County

County Seat: 

Mineral Point  1829 – 1861

Dodgeville       1861 – present


County Courthouse – Dodgeville


Location:  222 North Iowa Street / West Merrimac Street

Built:  1859 – 1861

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Ernest Wiesen of Mineral Point

Contractor:  Thomas Carkeek and Samuel Cornelius


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored native Galena limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dodgeville. The building has a portico on the east front supported by four large white colored Doric columns. Above the entrance is an octagonal white colored cupola. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located along the east side of the second story. There is a small courtroom at the center of the south side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 7th Judicial District. The building was enlarged in 1894, 1927 and 1969 and the interior was renovated. The columns and cupola were restored in 1937. In 1996 the building was enlarged on the west side. The architect was R C Shutter, Inc. and the contractor was Roberts Construction, Inc.


Note:  The building is the oldest courthouse in Wisconsin still used as a courthouse.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Adams County, Buffalo County, Clark County, Crawford CountyGrant CountyJackson CountyJuneau CountyLa Crosse County, Monroe County, Pepin CountyPierce CountyRichland County, Trempealeau County and Vernon County.


History:  The county was created in 1829 and Mineral Point was selected as the county seat. The first county meeting was held in 1830. The first courthouse was a log cabin purchased from G B Cole and repaired by Jonas Meirs in 1830. The first jail was built by John Brown in 1831. The second courthouse was a two story structure built by Levi Sterling in 1835 at a cost of $575. In 1841, a separate structure was built for the clerk’s office. The third courthouse was built by Elizar Smith and Michael Carson at a cost of $6,150 plus $1,318 for alterations. The county seat was moved to Dodgeville in 1861. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1859 to 1861.



County Courthouse – Dodgeville





























County Circuit Court courtroom









County Circuit Court small courtroom







Photos taken 2007, 2010 and 2023