Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Jo Daviess County

Jo Daviess County

Jo Daviess County is named for Joseph Hamilton Daviess, who was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe and who was the United States District Attorney for Kentucky.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grant County, Wisconsin and Lafayette County, Wisconsin 

E – Stephenson County

S – Carroll County

W – Jackson County, Iowa and Dubuque County, Iowa


Created:  February 17, 1827                                                      Map of Illinois highlighting Jo Daviess County

County Seat:

Galena 1827 – present


County Courthouse – Galena


Location:  330 North Bench Street / Franklin Street

Built:  1839 – 1844

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  Charles H Rogers

Contractor:  John L Slaymaker and Reverend Samuel Mazzuchelli


Description: The building faces southeast and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Galena. The building has a central projecting section with arch and recessed entrance with fanlight on the first story and rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is a raised course limestone basement. The mansard roof is clad in slate and has circular windows on the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 15th Judicial Circuit. The building was enlarged in 1899 with a long limestone addition on the northwest side. In 1970, a further stone addition was added on the northwest side and a further extension was added in 1976. The building is being renovated in 2024 to 2025. The architect is Shive-Hattery Architects of Cedar Rapids, Iowa and the contractor is Conlon Construction of Dubuque, Iowa. Completion date is July 2025.


Note:  The building plans were prepared by Reverend Samuel Muzzuchelli and John L Slaymaker. During the construction of the courthouse Richard Darigan. John Hughes and Michael Gannon did the excavation work. Andrew Telford did the carpentry work and Barrick & Russell did the masonry work. S A Rambo did the plastering work. The construction was supervised by Thomas Drum and Abel Proctor.


Note:  The building is the second oldest Courthouse in use in Illinois and was built at the same time as the oldest courthouse in  Putnam County 


See:  The 15th Judicial Circuit includes Carroll CountyLee CountyOgle County and Stephenson County.


History:  The county was created in 1827 and Galena was selected as the county seat in 1827. The court first met in 1830 at the home of James Hammett. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1844.


Note:  The highest point in Illinois is Charles Mound at 1,235 feet ( 376 meters ) which is located in the county. 



County Courthouse – Galena









New County Courthouse Addition – Galena



Photos taken 2008