Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Winnebago County

Winnebago County

Winnebago County is named for the Winnebago Indian tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Green County, Wisconsin and Rock County, Wisconsin 

E – Boone County

S – Ogle County

W – Stephenson County


Created:  March 3, 1836                                                             Map of Illinois highlighting Winnebago County

County Seat:

Winnebago  1836 – 1839

Rockford     1839 – present


County Courthouse – Rockford


Location:  400 West State Street / South Church Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gilbert A Johnson, Kile, Seehausen & Associates Inc.

Contractor:  Sjostrom & Sons Inc.


Description: The building faces north and is a nine story brick, glass and concrete  structure. The building has a high rectangular tower on the east side and a lower wing on the west side. The north side is faced with white stone. On the southeast is a low two story concrete addition


County Justice Center – Rockford



Location:  650 West State Street / South Winnebago Street

Built:  2003 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  The Durant Group

Contractor:  SRB Partners


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red and buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure, The building is located at the northeast corner with a six story structure on the west side. The building complex was completed in 2007 and consists of a number of high and low buildings. In the interior are twelve courtrooms. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial Circuit.


See:  The 17th Judicial Circuit includes Boone County.



County Courthouse – Rockford







County Justice Center



Photos taken 2008