Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Rock County

Rock County

Rock County is named for the Rock River which flows through the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dane County and Jefferson County 

E – Walworth County

S – Boone County, Illinois and Winnebago County, Illinois

W – Green County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Rock County

County Seat: 

Janesville  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Janesville


Location:  51 South Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Carl Lloyd Ames of Milwaukee

Contractor:  J P Cullen of Janesville


Description:  The building faces south and is a five story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building rises north up a landscaped slope in the center of Janesville. The south center section is rounded with supporting pillars on the first story at the entrance. The building has square lines with large corner windows. On the west side is a square tower. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial District.  An addition was built in 1997 on the site of the old 1870 County Courthouse. The architect was Kenton Peters of Madison and the contractor was Miron Construction of Neenah.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Columbia CountyDane County, Green CountyLafayette County and Sauk County


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Janesville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1847 to 1848. The building burned in 1859. The county used rented premises until the second courthouse was built which was a three story structure designed by J Townsend Mix and constructed by James & Rotheram in 1870 at a cost of $124,673. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1954 to 1955.



County Courthouse – Janesville









Photos taken 2005 and 2008