Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Jefferson County

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Jefferson County in New York State where a number of the early settlers had lived .


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dodge County

E – Waukesha County

S – Racine County and Walworth County

W – Dane County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat: 

Jefferson  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Jefferson


Location:  320 South Main Street / East Dodge Street

Built:  1964 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Waterman, Fuge & Associates

Contractor:  Mass Brothers


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story stone, brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jefferson. On the north side of the building there is a polished red stone center section divided by vertical black pillars and cornice. On either side of the center section is white polished stone facing, with a block of windows in the west section. The rest of the building has light colored flag stone facing. Around the building is an alteration of the different stone facings. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District. 


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Dodge CountyOzaukee County, Washington County and Waukesha County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Jefferson was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1837 was a two story wood frame building that also housed a tavern. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by H C Koch and constructed by D Stevens in 1880 to 1881. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1966.



County Courthouse – Jefferson



Photos taken 2007