Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Walworth County

Walworth County

Walworth County is named for Reuben Hyde Walworth, who was a New York judge. 


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jefferson County and Waukesha County 

E – Racine County and Kenosha County

S – McHenry County, Illinois and Boone County, Illinois

W – Rock County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Wisconsin highlighting Walworth County

County Seat: 

Elkhorn  1836 – present


County Judicial Center – Elkhorn


Location:  1800 County Road NN

Built:  2003 – 2005

Style:  Modern

Architect: Ayers Associates Inc of Eau Claire and Plunkett Raysich ( Ebling-Plunkett & Keymar ) of Milwaukee

Contractor:  J P Cullen and Sons


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story yellow colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the east of the center of Elkhorn. The east section is four stories with few windows except for a large glass area above the extended entrance. On the west, the building is three stories with small windows along the first story and four large glass areas above. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial District.


County Government Center – Elkhorn



Location:  100 West Walworth Street / North Wisconsin Street

Built:  1961 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ebling-Plunkett & Keymar of Milwaukee

Contractor:  Moran Construction Company of Elm Grove


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story concrete and glass structure.  The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Elkhorn. Vertical concrete dividers separate the recessed windows, with the first floor base being faced with stone. At the main south entrance a concrete slab forms a portico over the glass doorway. On the west side is a wing.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Kenosha County and  Racine County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Elkhorn was selected as the county seat in 1838. The first courthouse was built for Mr. LeGrand Rockwell, Registrar of Deeds in 1839. The second courthouse was built in 1843. The third courthouse was designed by Squire Sanford and built in 1874 to 1875. In 1905 a building was constructed next to the courthouse to house the registrar of deeds. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1961 to 1962 and became the Walworth County Government Center. The Judicial Center was constructed in 2003 to 2005.



County Judicial Center – Elkhorn



County Government Center – Elkhorn

Photos taken 2007