Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wisconsin » Kenosha County

Kenosha County

Kenosha County is named for the Ojibwe word “ginoozhe” meaning “a pike ( fish )”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Racine County

E – Lake Michigan 

S – Lake County, Illinois and McHenry County, Illinois

W – Walworth County


Created:  January 30, 1850                    Map of Wisconsin highlighting Kenosha County

County Seat: 

Kenosha  1850 – present


County Courthouse – Kenosha


Location:  1010 56th Street / Sheridan Road

Built:  1923 – 1925

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Joseph Lindl, Charles Lesser & Albert J Schutte

Contractor:  Hutter Construction Company of Fond du Lac


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story limestone, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kenosha. The building is constructed of gray colored Indiana limestone with the east and west wings projecting from the building. The long center section has stone columns rising from the second to third story. The first story entrance has three doorways framed with stone. The interior has a central light court, illuminated by a colored, leaded glass skylight, and by round arched windows, and rises three stories in the main entrance hall and is surrounded by balconies. Distinguished by a Botticino marble staircase and marble columns and pilasters, the interior court (and adjacent hallways) are lavishly ornamented with molded ceiling details, hand-wrought iron balusters and grills, and “classical” mural art. The murals in the central hall were designed by A E Foringer and executed in muted tones of blue, gold, and white. Symbolizing Civil Law, with winged figures bearing inscribed tablets, they surmount the entries to the second story courtrooms. The large mural on the third floor landing, entitled “In Memoriam,” was designed by noted New York artist William De Leftwich-Dodge, and the courtroom murals were designed by Charles Holloway. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial District.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Racine County and Walworth County.


History:  The county was created in 1850 and Kenosha was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a red colored brick structure built in 1850 at a cost of $10,500.  The courthouse was razes in 1885 when the second courthouse, a two story red brick structure was designed by Burnham & Root and built in 1885 at a cost of $31,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1923 to 1925 at a cost of $500,000.



County Courthouse – Kenosha









Photos taken 2007