Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Stephenson County

Stephenson County

Stephenson County is named for Benjamin Stephenson, who was the Adjutant General of the Illinois Territory from 1813 to 1814.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lafayette County, Wisconsin and Green County, Wisconsin 

E – Winnebago County

S – Ogle County and Carroll County

W – Jo Daviess County


Created:  March 4, 1837                                                             Map of Illinois highlighting Stephenson County

County Seat:

Freeport 1837 – present


County Courthouse – Freeport


Location:  15 North Galena Avenue / East Stephenson Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Johnson, Kile and Seehaussen

Contractor:  Cheeseman Construction


Description: The building faces southwest and is a two story concrete, stone and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Freeport. Horizontal pillars support the outside of the building with the first story being recessed. The second story has few windows and large panels of buff colored concrete. The flat roof line is recessed with brown color. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 15th Judicial Circuit.


See:  The 15th Judicial Circuit includes Carroll CountyJo Daviess County, Lee County and Ogle County.


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Freeport was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1840. The second courthouse was designed by E E Myers and constructed by A Walbaum Company in 1873. The building was torn down for the construction of the third and present courthouse in 1972 to 1974.



County Courthouse – Freeport







Photos taken by 2006 and 2010