Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Edwards County

Edwards County

Edwards County is named for John H Edwards, who was a Kansas state legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pawnee County

E – Stafford County and Pratt County

S – Kiowa County

W – Ford County and Hodgeman County


Created:  March 18, 1874                       Map of Kansas highlighting Edwards County

County Seat:

Kinsley  1874 – present


County Courthouse – Kinsley 


Location:  312 Massachusetts Avenue / West 4th Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Routledge & Hertz Architects & Engineers of Hutchinson

Contractor:   Roy Hatfield


Description: The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick, gray colored limestone, buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Kinsley. The east front of the building has three arches at the center of the first story, with a small balcony above. A protruding cornices runs below the roofline. The first story is faced with gray colored limestone. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 24th Judicial District. 


Note:  The architect,  Routledge & Hertz, designed courthouses in Comanche County, Finney County, Gray County. Hodgeman County and Sherman County.


See:  The 24th Judicial District includes Hodgeman County, Lane County, Ness County, Pawnee County and Rush County.


History:  The county was created in 1874 and Kinsley was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in Kinsley after 1874. The second courthouse was designed by Hopkins & Holland and constructed by Virgil D Billings in 1885. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929 at a cost of $150,000.



County Courthouse – Kinsley















County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2016