Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Harvey County

Harvey County

Harvey County is named for James M Harvey, who was a Governor of the State of Kansas and a United States Senator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McPherson County and Marion County

E – Marion County and Butler County

S – Sedgwick County

W – Reno County


Created:  March 7, 1872                         Map of Kansas highlighting Harvey County

County Seat:

Newton  1872 – present


County Courthouse – Newton  


Location:  800 North Main Street / East 8th Street

Built:  1965 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Miller Hiett Dronberger & Arbuckle of Hutchinson

Contractor:  Law- Pollitt Construction Company, Inc. of Wichita


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Newton. The west front has vertical concrete dividers with red brick on the south two sections and glass on the north three sections. On the north and south sides, the windows are vertical. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the two County District Court courtrooms are located on the east side of the second story in the north section. The building houses the County District Court of the 9th Judicial District. On the east side is the Jail and the Newton Police Department.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes McPherson County.


History:  The county was created in 1872 and Newton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1872 was the Johnson Building at Main Street and Broadway. The second courthouse in 1873 was the First National Bank constructed by B C Arnold at 526 North Main Street. The third courthouse in 1875 was the Hamill Building at 513 North Main Street. The fourth courthouse was the Masonic Building in 1880 at 700 North Main Street. The fifth courthouse in 1888 was the Bretch Building designed by William L Ross at cost of $30,000. The sixth courthouse was the return to the Masonic Building in 1896. The seventh courthouse was designed by Holland & Squires and constructed by Crosby & Son in 1906. The eight and present courthouse was constructed in 1965 to 1966.



County Courthouse – Newton



















County District Curt courthouse

















Picture 1906 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2010