Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Stanton County

Stanton County

Stanton County is named for M Edwin Stanton ( 1814-1869 ), who was Secretary of War from 1862 to 1868.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hamilton County

E – Grant County

S – Morton County

W – Baca County, Colorado and Prowers County, Colorado


Created:  March 6, 1873                         Map of Kansas highlighting Stanton County

County Seat:

Johnson City  1887 – present


County Courthouse – Johnson City  


Location:  201 North Main Street / East Sherman Avenue

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Smith & English of Hutchison

Contractor:  S S Strong of Beaver, Oklahoma


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Johnson City. The west front has four large white colored columns supporting a white colored portico over the entrance which has a wide staircase. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court  courtroom is located on the east side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 26th Judicial District. 


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Grant County, Haskell CountyMorton County, Seward County and Stevens County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Johnson City was selected as the county seat in 1887 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure erected in 1887 and located on East Grant Avenue two blocks east of Main Street. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1925 to 1926.



County Courthouse – Johnson City













County District Court courthouse











Photos taken 2007 and 2022