Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Grant County

Grant County

Grant County is named for General Ulysses S Grant ( 1822-1885 ), the 18th president of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kearny County

E – Haskell County

S – Stevens County

W – Stanton County


Created:  March 20, 1873                       Map of Kansas highlighting Grant County

County Seat:

Ulysses  1888 – present


County Courthouse – Ulysses  


Location:  108 South Glenn Street / West Grant Avenue

Built:  1929 – 1930

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Smith and English of Hutchinson

Contractor:  J M Fuller of Winfield


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Ulysses. The west front has the entrance in the center with a wide staircase and stone trim above the entrance. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the east side of the second story. There is a small courtroom and the Commissioner’s Meeting Room. The building houses the County District Court of the 26th Judicial District.


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Grant County, Haskell CountyMorton County, Seward County, Stanton County and Stevens County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Ulsses was selected as the county seat in 1888 when the county was organized. The first courthouse in 1888 was the two story frame Opera House built in 1887. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1930 to 1931.



County Courthouse – Ulysses.















County District Court courtroom











Small courtroom





Commissioner’s Meeting Room





Photos taken 2007 and 2022