Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Elliott County

Elliott County

Elliott County is named for John Milton Elliott, who was a United States Representative from Kentucky.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carter County

E – Lawrence County

S – Morgan County

W – Rowan County and Carter County


Created:  January 26, 1869                    Map of Kentucky highlighting Elliott County

County Seat: 

Sandy Hook  1869 – present


County Courthouse – Sandy Hook 


Location:  100 Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces nortwest and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Sandy Hook. The northwest front has a projecting center section with two entrances on the second story with the building descending down a slope on the east side. The building has no windows on the front and the roof line is flat. In the interior, the two courtrooms are located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 37th Judicial District. The building was renovated 2004.


See:  The 37th Judicial Circuit includes Carter County, Elliott County and Morgan County.


History:  The county was created in 1869 and Sandy Hook ( Martinsburg ) was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1869. The second courthouse was a two story stone structure built in 1937 under the Public Works Administration. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on December 18, 1957. The county rented premises until the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1969.



County Courthouse – Sandy Hook























Photos taken 2012 and 2018