Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Lawrence County

Lawrence County

Lawrence County is named for James Lawrence, who was a naval commander during the War of 1812.


County Courthouse Courthouses: 

N – Carter County and Boyd County

E – Wayne County, West Virginia

S – Martin County and Johnson County

W – Morgan County and Elliott County


Created:  December 14, 1821                Map of Kentucky highlighting Lawrence County

County Seat: 

Louisa  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Louisa 


Location:  122 South Cross Main  / Madison Street

Built:  1961 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  James E Moore of Ashland

Contractor:  W B Fosson & Sons of Ashland


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story glass, gray colored panels, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Louisa. The southwest front has a canopy over the central first story entrance. The main central part of the building rises to a sloped roof and has few windows. The north and south wings have horizontal windows and slopped roofs.


County Judicial Center – Louisa 


Location:  29 Riverbend Road  / Highway 23

Built:  2011 – 2013

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sherman Carter Barnhart of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the west of the center of Louisa. The west front has a central white colored portico with limestone columns on the first story with windows on the second story and gable end at the top. The roof is hipped with gable ends on all sides. The interior has a monumental stair and an interior second story balcony. Cherry millwork occurs throughout with terrazzo floors and stone tile wainscoting. The courtroom is located on the second story. 


History:  The county was created in 1821 and Louisa was selected as the county seat in 1822. The first court met in the house of Andrew Johnson in 1822. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure erected in 1823. The second courthouse was built. The third courthouse was a two story structure built in 1870. An addition was constructed in 1922. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1961 to 1964 at a cost of $390,000. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2011 to 2013 at a cost of $18,200,000.



County Courthouse – Louisa















Photos taken 2012