Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Ohio County

Ohio County

Ohio County is named for the Ohio River which used to form the northern boundary of the county until the creation of Daviess County and Hancock County.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Davies County and Hancock County

E – Breckinridge County and Grayson County

S – Butler County and Muhlenberg County

W – McLean County and Daviess County


Created:  December 17, 1798                Map of Kentucky highlighting Ohio County

County Seat: 

Hartford  1798 – present


County Courthouse – Hartford  


Location:  301 South Main Street / East Washington Street

Built:  1941 – 1943

Style:  Art Deco / Moderne

Architect:  Walter Scott Roberts of Owensboro

Contractor:  Wescott & Thornton


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story gray colored stone and poured concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square and sits on a slight rise. The southwest front has a large rectangular stone arch with the entrance recessed and a large window above the entrance doors. On large window on either side, flank the central arch and three small vertical windows, flank the central arch on the second story. The building was constructed as a Works Project Administration project.


See:  The 38th Judicial Circuit includes Butler CountyEdmonson County, Hancock County and Ohio County.


Note:  The first courthouse was a log cabin built in 1799 to 1800. The  previous courthouse was constructed by William H Miller in 1865 anfter the third courthouse was burned during the Civil War.



County Courthouse – Hartford





















Photos taken 2007 and 2018