Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Daviess County

Daviess County

Daviess County is named for Joseph Hamilton Daviess, who was a lawyer killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe and who lived from 1774 to 1811.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Warrick County, Indiana and Spencer County, Indiana

E – Hancock County 

S – Ohio County and McLean County

W – Henderson County


Created:  January 14, 1815                    Map of Kentucky highlighting Daviess County

County Seat: 

Owensboro  1815 – present


County Courthouse –  Owensboro 


Location:  212 Saint Ann Street / West 2nd Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Max W Bisson & Associates of Owensboro

Contractor:  Clark Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Owensboro. The building is a U shape constructed with Indiana limestone. At each side of the building is a wall of limestone with narrow vertical openings which form the entrance porticos. The windows in the building are long and narrow. The roof line is flat. The former courtroom is located on the southeast corner of the second story. 


County Judicial Center –  Owensboro 



Location:  100 East 2nd Street / Allen Street

Built:  1989 – 1991

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Collighnon & Nunley Architects

Contractor:  R & W Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story stone, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located east of the courthouse and is faced with polished light pink colored stone. The north front has a recessed entrance at the center of the first story. The roof line is flat. The building is named as The Morton J Holbrook Jr. Judicial Center. In 2003, a one story wing was constructed on the east side and the entrance became the main entrance. On the south side is the Robert M Kirtley Judicial Annex which was openned in 2006.


History:  The county was created in 1815 and Owensboro was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in 1815 and was torn down in 1819. The second courthouse was a small brick structure built in 1819 and dismantled in 1853. The third courthouse was built in 1853 and was burned in 1865 during the Civil War by Confederate troops as payback aimed at black soldiers who had been occupying the building. The fourth courthouse was designed by Bennett Trimble and B W McLoyd and constructed in 1868.on the same foundations. The building was remodeled by McDonald Brothers in 1887. The building was further remodeled in 1927 and.then  demolished in 1964 when the fifth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $1,500,000. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 1989 to 1990.




County Courthouse – Owensboro































Picture 1868 County Courthouse





County Judicial Center – Owensboro

















Robert M Kirtley Judicial Annex – Owensboro









Photos taken 2007 and 2018