Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Spencer County

Spencer County

Spencer County is named for Spier Spencer, who was a Captain and who was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dubois County

E – Perry County

S –  Hancock County, Kentucky and Daviess County, Kentucky

W – Warrick County


Created:  January 10, 1818                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Spencer County

County Seat: 

Rockport  1818 – present


County Courthouse – Rockport  


Location:  200 Main Street / 2nd Street

Built:  1919 – 1921

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  The Elmer E Dunlap Company of Indianapolis

Contractor:  English Brothers


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on the spacious landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Rockport.  The north front has an arched entrance on the first story and six large columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. In the center of the roof line on each side is a clock. The first story has horizontal stone work. In the interior, the Assembly Room is located on the south side of the first story. The central rotunda is topped by a shallow stained glass dome. At the base is a sixteen point star on the terrazzo floor. Wall surfaces surrounding the rotunda are enriched by marble wainscoting and paired marble pilasters supporting a denitilled entablature. There are wall scones and acorn-shaped ceiling lights. On the south side a grand staircase curves up to the third story and the courtroom which has Doric pilasters that support an entablature that surrounds the courtroom. Cross beams separate the ceiling into large recessed panels. Original chandeliers hang from the points where the beams intersect. The original judge’s bench remains. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 25th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, Elmer E Dunlap of Indianapolis also designed courthouses in Carroll CountyFranklin County, Jackson County and Pike County.


See:  The 25th Judicial District includes Davies County, Dubois CountyKnox CountyPike County.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Rockport was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure was erected in 1821. The second courthouse was built in 1822 but burned in 1834. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1835 to 1838, The fourth courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Thomas F DeBruler and constructed by F D Allen in 1863 to 1864. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1919 to 1921 at a cost of $276,000.



County Courthouse – Rockport















Photos taken 2008