Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Franklin County

Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fayette County and Union County

E – Butler County, Ohio 

S – Dearborn County and Ripley County

W – Decatur County and Rush County


Created:  November 27, 1810                                                    Map of Indiana highlighting Franklin County

County Seat: 

Brookville  1811 – present


County Courthouse – Brookville  


Location:  459 Main Street / East 5th Street

Built:  1853 – 1855  /  1910 – 1912

Style:  Italianate Palazzo

Architect:  Edwin May /  Elmer E Dunlap and Marshall E Van Arman

Contractor:  Edwin May /  Isaac W Millikan.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building was remodeled in 1878. In 1910, the building was remodeled as a Neo-Classical style structure and completed in 1912. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Brookville. There is a large portico on the west front supported by two large columns. The base of the building is stone with stone trim surrounding the windows. On the center of the roof is a square brick clock tower with small cupola at the top. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 18h Judicial District. In 1878, the architect was Elmer E Dunlap and Marshall E Van Arman and the contractor was Isaac W Millikin. The building was renovated in 1973. The architect was Howard J Barth & Associates and the contractor was V H Juerling & Sons, Inc.


Note:  When the new tower and roof were constructed in 1877, the old roof collapsed due to material load and fell into ther courtroom along with the construction workers while court was in session but no one was injured,


See:  The architect, Elmer E Dunlap of Indianapolis also designed courthouses in Carroll County, Jackson County, Pike County and Spencer County.


See:  The 18th Judicial District includes Fayette CountyRush County, Union County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1810 and Brookville was selected as the county seat in 1811. The first court met in the tavern of James Knight and the first courthouse was a log structure built in 1812. The second courthouse was a brick structure designed by Aquilla Logan built by James Knight and Martin Jameson at a cost of $3,000 in 1814 to 1817. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1852. The third courthouse was designed and constructed by Edwin May in 1853 to 1855 at a cost of $28,000. New tower built in 1877. The fourth and present courthouse was a remodeled previous courthouse and designed by Elmer Dunlap of Indianapolis and constructed by I W Millikan in 1910 to 1912 at a cost of $96,000 and in 1910 to 1912.



County Courthouse – Brookville











Photos taken 2008