Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Union County

Union County

Union County is named for the union of parts of Fayette, Franklin and Wayne counties.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wayne County

E – Preble County, Ohio and Butler County, Ohio

S – Franklin County

W – Fayette County


Created:  January 5, 1821                                                          Map of Indiana highlighting Union County

County Seat:

Brownsville  1821 – 1823

Liberty          1823 – present


County Courthouse – Liberty  


Location:  26 West Union Street / South Market Street

Built:  1890 – 1891

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  George W Bunting of Indianapolis

Contractor:  William McKay of Parke County


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray colored stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Liberty. The front section has a high square stone clock tower with steep roof. The first story entrance has a stone arch. On either side of the tower are sections which rise to peaks above the roof line. On the east and west sides are rounded towers. In the interior there is a central hall which runs north-south.  In the building are encaustic tile floors and a glazed ceramic pressed tile wainscot. The doors and trim are oak. At the north end of the building is a cast iron staircase which ascends to the second story and the courtroom where the walls are paneled. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 18th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 2006. The architect was Conerstone Design of Otterhein and the contractor was Oberle & Associates of Richmond.


See:  The architect, George W Bunting of Indianapolis, also designed courthouses in Clinton CountyGreene CountyJohnson CountyMontgomery County and Wells County.


See:  The 18th Judicial District includes Fayette CountyFranklin CountyRush County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and Brownsville was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Liberty in 1823. The first courthouse was erected in 1823. The second courthouse was designed by Edwin May and built in 1856 at a cost of $14,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1890 to 1891 at a cost of $140,000.



County Courthouse – Liberty















Photos taken 2008