Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Montgomery County

Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Richard Montgomery, who was a military general killed at the Battle of Quebec, and who lived from 1736 to 1775.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tippecanoe County

E – Clinton CountyBoone County and Hendricks County

S – Putnam County and Parke County

W – Parke County and Fountain County


Created:  December 21, 1822                                                    Map of Indiana highlighting Montgomery County

County Seat: 

Crawfordsville  1823 – present


County Courthouse – Crawfordsville  


Location:  100 East Main Street / Washington Street

Built:  1875 – 1876

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  George W Bunting of Indianapolis

Contractor:  McCormack & Sweeney of Columbus


Description:  The building faces west and  is a two story buff and light red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Crawfordsville. The building has a raised basement. The front portico has four columns rising from the second story to the pediment at the roof line. The north and south wings project slightly from the main building. Above the pediment is a large square where the tower was formerly located. The interior had high ceilings and wood wainscoting and framed doors. The courtroom is located on the second story. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 11th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1941. The building was further renovated in 1986. The architect and contractor was H Stewart Kline & Associates, Inc. of Lafayette.


Note:  The clock tower was replaced in 2018 after it had been removed in 1941.


Note:  In 1825 a contract was issued to Henry Ristine to cut trees and pick up chips from under the courthouse so that “hogs would not find a comfortable place in which to make their beds”.


See:  The architect, George W Bunting of Indianapolis, also designed courthouses in Clinton CountyGreene CountyJohnson CountyUnion County and Wells County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Crawfordsville Historic Commercial District


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Fountain CountyParke County, Vermillion County and Warren County.


History:  The county was created in 1822 and Crawfordsville was selected as the county seat in 1823. The first courthouse a log two story structure built by Eliakam Ashton in 1823 to 1824 at a cost of $295. The second courthouse a two story brick structure built by John Hughes in 1831 to 1833 at a cost of $3,420. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1875 to 1876 at a cost of $150,000.



County Courthouse – Crawfordville











Photos taken 2008