Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Greene County

Greene County

Greene County is named for Nathanael Greene, who was a general in the American revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County and Owen County

E – Monroe County and Lawrence County

S – Martin County Daviess County and  Knox County

W – Sullivan County


Created:  January 5,1821                                                           Map of Indiana highlighting Greene County

County Seat: 

Burlington  1821 – 1824

Bloomfield  1824 – present


County Courthouse – Bloomfield


Location:  916 East Main Street / South Washington Street

Built:  1885 – 1886

Style:  Classic Revival

Architect:  George W Bunting of Indianapolis

Contractor:  McKay & Bushman


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and limestone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Bloomfield. The building has a limestone foundation. The north front has a projecting brick section with recessed entrance on the first story. Above is a large recessed window with stone header at the roof line. Above is a square stone clock tower. The building has a course white colored stone base. In the interior, the terrazzo floors are a green and yellow color. There is a central hall on the first story. The courtroom is located in the norther portion of the second story and used to extend into the third story. The addition on the south side has the large Circuit Court courtroom on the second story extending into the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 20th Judicial District.  The building was remodeled in 1954. The architect was Jay Bixby. In 2006 to 2008, an addition was added on the south side. The architect was DLZ Indiana and the contractor was Weddle Brothers Construction Company.


See:  The architect, George W Bunting of Indianapolis, also designed courthouses in Clinton CountyJohnson CountyMontgomery CountyUnion County and Wells County.


See:  The 20th Judicial District includes Lawrence CountyMonroe County and Owen County.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and Burlington was selected as the county seat. The county met at the home of Thomas Bradford. The first courthouse was a log structure built by Thomas Bradford, J Howell and Z Jenkins in 1822 to 1823 at a cost of $250. In 1824, the county seat was moved to Bloomfield. The second courthouse was a log structure but in 1824. The third courthouse was built in 1835 to 1836 at a cost of $6,272. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1885 to 1886 at a cost of $68.994.



County Courthouse – Bloomfield













Photos taken 2008